Upgrading an Umbraco 8 project on Cloud

I am upgrading an Umbraco 8 site to v10 following the documentation where I’ve restored the v8 database into a local SQL Server and created a clean Umbraco 10 project locally.

After pointing the local (v10) project to the (v8) database and running it, I’m not able to log in, as the users in the DB are using UmbracoID (the “Log in with Umbraco ID” button is not available at this point…)

I tried installing the Umbraco.Cloud.Identity.Cms package and added the umbraco-cloud.json file with the necessary Ids and Secrets etc., which does give me the “Log in with Umbraco ID” button, but the login times out with some kind of token failure.

Does anyone know how this step in the process (logging in, to finish the install) is supposed to be performed in this scenario (local clean install connecting to backup of Cloud DB) ?

Thanks,
/Chriztian

Hi @greystate

I recall running into similar issues with a migration from v7 on Umbraco Cloud a while ago, I’m pretty sure I used a vanilla copy of Umbraco 10 locally first which did not come from Umbraco Cloud and that let me login using a local admin user. That way, you can migrate fully without any Umbraco Cloud so the Umbraco ID should not be an issue.

Then, once I had upgraded through the majors, I moved the files over to the Umbraco Cloud project and then could start using the Umbraco ID to login.

It was a while ago I did that so my memory may be sketchy though!

Justin

Thanks Justin,

I think your memory may be a little sketchy here :smirking_face: - I do have a local (clean) Umbraco 10 - but that needs to be pointing to the v8 database to do the migration, and that part seems to work fine, as it’s doing that in the boot process (I guess?). But to finish the upgrade, you need to log in to authorize the upgrade, and that’s where the problem is…

I’m going to try another approach, which is to add a new user to the v8 database, that’s not using UmbraoID and do the upgrade again - hopefully that’ll work :crossed_fingers:

/Chriztian

Hi @greystate

I have a recollection I had to reset the password before I migrated to v10 for some reason, maybe worth a try?

Justin

My foggy memory seems to remember some uda’s for users.. that have _name.uda.. in the data schema folder.. _ meaning don’t action.. removing the _ for the required users you could then manaually run the uda processing and get the users back in the DB…

but might be misremembering if this was a v8 → 10 cloud thing… :shrug